Movie 4: Django Unchained

imagesWritten and directed by Quentin Tarantino, Django Unchained is a revenge story about a freed slave who bonds with a bounty hunter and the associated quest to emancipate Django’s wife from a Mississippi plantation. So, was I entertained?  Did I think much about this movie afterwards?  Would I recommend it to others/see it again?

christophThis movie was very entertaining, offering quite a few funny lines, a lot of wit, and really good acting by Jamie Foxx, Leonardo DiCaprio, Christoph Waltz and, of course, Samuel L. Jackson.  Prior to seeing this movie, I heard a lot of “oh, so much bloodshed”, “oh so violent” and the like.  Honestly, it is a Quentin Tarantino movie and that is pretty much expected and was, therefore, not distracting, disturbing, or inappropriate, given the story line.

leoDid I think about this movie afterwards?  Yes, but not in a philosophical way although there are some interesting themes from the 1858 setting of the movie that resonate in present day but that is for you to figure out and decide.  I felt that it was $12 well spent and kept recalling several scenes that were simply brilliant and/or funny.

samuelWould I recommend it to others? Absolutely, particularly if you have a sense of humor.  Would I see it again?  Definitely.  I actually want to see it again to hear some of the dialogue that I may have missed first time around.  Overall, I loved this movie; however, the one downfall (which seems to be a constant factor in most of Tarantino’s movies) is the apparent struggle Quentin has in cramming maybe one too many story lines in a movie.  Given the assumed politics of the Oscars, this particular type of movie MUST be spot on in terms of everything to potentially win Best Picture.  Django Unchained could have been in legitimate jamiecontention for Best Picture IF the story line would have been more effectively condensed without compromising the entertainment and/or message value of the experience.  Having said that, what do I know?  I am not an Academy voter but this movie is a close second to Argo after seeing four of the nine nominated movies for Best Picture at this time.  Will let you know once I see all nine.  If you are on the fence about seeing Django Unchained, go see it. I honestly think, at the very least, you will be entertained.

Leave a Reply

