Movie 5: Silver Linings Playbook

silverliningsStarring Bradley Cooper, Robert De Niro, and Jennifer Lawrence, Silver Linings Playbook is a story about a man trying move forward with his life following a relatively brief stay in a psychiatric institution.  I did not know much about the movie prior to seeing it other than it was nominated for Best Picture in 2013. The entertainment value was quite high; great story with wonderful acting.  Hats off to Bradley Cooper’s performance.  He has proven to me he can do comedy (The Hangover) as well as drama.

Did I think much about the movie afterwards? No, but not in a bad way.  It is a romantic comedy that is dramatic; the comedic nature created a lighter fare than what could have been generated if the angle of the silverlinings2movie’s focus was more serious.  It did, however, provoke emotion and thoughts as I watched the movie. Silver Linings Playbook was very well done and I hold it to a much higher regard than at least half of the movies nominated for Best Picture that I have seen to date.  Would I recommend it to others?  Yes, go see it.  Would I see it again? Yes, I probably will.

Leave a Reply

