And the Oscar Goes To….

oscarWell, I did it!  I saw every Oscar-nominated movie in contention for Best Picture prior to the airing of the Academy Awards.  Actually, this is the first time I have seen every movie nominated for best film for a specific year, period.  Wow! The Academy should award me with my own honorary Oscar but that isn’t going to happen. Nice to see that blogging really keeps me honest with achieving even the smallest goals so small victory for me!

amour_ver2_xlgHaving seen all nine movies nominated this year, which one should win and which one will win?  In my opinion, seven of the nine nominated movies were really good for a number of different reasons, making this guessing game very difficult. My mind toggles between three movies whereby I think one of them should win Best Picture. In no particular order, those three movies Argo Posterare: 1) Amour, 2) Argo, and 3) Django Unchained. As we all know, movies that should win don’t always win. I sincerely doubt the Oscar will go to Django Unchained due to “award politics” although the Academy did award Eminem the much deserved Best Original Song Oscar in 2003 for “Lose Yourself” (which I thought would never happen).  imagesWhich movie will win? My guess is Argo although I am not ruling out the dark horse Amour to possibly steal the award.  Also, Director Oscar should go to Ang Lee for Life of Pi although I suspect it might go to Spielberg for Lincoln.

While I haven’t seen every movie associated with Best Actor and Actress in Leading Roles, my quick two cents.

Actor in Leading Role:  Daniel Day-Lewis (Lincoln) although make no mistake; Bradely Cooper (Silver Linings Playbook) clearly demonstrated that he can act; also, I did not see Joaquin Phoenix’s performance in The Master and either one of these gents could pose an upset.

Actress in Leading Role: Emmanuelle Riva (Amour); yeah, Jessica Chastain (Zero Dark Thirty) was good but Riva was better.

There you have it; my picks for Oscar based on nothing other than my own opinion!

Leave a Reply

