An A.U. Adventure Worth Repeating – Whole30 Round Two!

Whole30-Version-31Earlier this year, I completed my very first Whole30 program, a 30-day nutritional program whereby specific foods are eliminated to let the body heal and reset. The focus is to cut out all inflammatory, gut-disrupting food groups and to eat real food for a full 30 days (hence the name Whole30) without any cheating. picassoBetween February 10 and March 11, I  successfully avoided consuming sugar of any kind (real or artificial), alcohol (yup, despite celebrating my birthday during this round), all grains (rice, wheat, corn, oats, etc), legumes (beans, lentils, peanuts, etc), dairy (with the exception of clarified butter or ghee), and white potatoes.  After reading my blog posts, two of my cousins in Baltimore (Lia and Sylvia) were inspired to do the same, successfully completing their own Whole30 with spectacular results in their overall health (while losing about 13-17lbs each).

the-whole-30-bookSo, what inspired me to do this a second time? Beyond the fact that this program delivered measurable results consistent with improved health (see my March 12 bog post) and made me feel awesome, the one thing both my cousins did that I had not done prior to starting Whole30 was read the book It Starts With Food by Dallas and Melissa Hartwig, founders of Whole30. While I had access to all the information needed to follow Whole30 from their website, I didn’t get involved in reading up on the science behind their method. Per the recommendation of both cousins, I recently purchased and read the book and became re-inspired to do a second adventureround of Whole30 with a few tweaks based on what I learned from reading the book.  For example, I will now follow their recommendations as it relates to the number of daily meals to have, when to have my pre-work out meal and when to have my post-work meal (neither of which count as meals), and what to actually eat for my pre- and post-work out meals. The other rules haven’t changed; no sugar, booze, dairy, grains, legumes or white potatoes for the next 30 days.  Not sure the second time around will be “easier”; I just know what awaits at the end of the next 30-days and can’t wait for Tuesday, August 27 to get here! Join in on my adventure by starting your very own Whole30 journey!

Leave a Reply

